What’s for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner?


After two weeks of omitting all animal protein from my diet I am feeling great. The key to success and health is in how the meals are planned. For me, I feel I have made new friends with the Esselstyn family. Rip Esselstyn wrote a book, The Engine 2 Diet. I read that along with Forks Over Knives and spent a lot of time in the recipe section of each book.

What I learned is how these Esselstyns eat! And I have to admit they eat well. Rip is a fireman in Austin. He had volunteers go on plant-based diets and every single one of them lowered their cholesterol levels, blood pressure and weight. Rip is a very active man, is strong and a world-class athlete; all fueled on plants.

Breakfast has been easy. I use the crock pot to make steel-cut oats over night. I wake up to a steaming bowl of oats, eat an apple later and I am good for the morning. Lunch and dinner has been whatever I have prepared the evening before. Thus far I have made vegetable lasagna, polenta pizza, hummus, black beans and rice, sweet potato mango bowl and salad. All of this has been tasty! According to the good doctors Esselstyn and Campbell, whole foods fill our stomachs on way less calories. Processed food is smaller, more dense with fats or sugars and the stomach does not fill up and signals that we need to eat more. Oh! That’s why one brownie was NEVER enough!! It is torturous to walk away from the sweets after just a small bite. But then again, I am highly sensitive to the wonderful taste of sugar and to the after effects that have caused a bit of damage. None of the recipes  in these two books I mentioned have the calorie counts- I have not stressed over calories- I eat plenty, love the food I have been making and feel great. In the short amount of time I have adhered to a plant-based diet my body has thanked me through shedding any bloating and losing about 4 pounds without counting one calorie!

I also bought Jillian Michaels 90-day work-out plan. I don’t give that program any credit for the weigh-loss YET. I just started.

Eating out is going to pose a problem. San Antonio has two vegetarian restaurants boasting a few vegan selections. San Marcos, as I found out last night does not have any. Austin has more, thanks to all of the “Keep Austin Weird” Folks!

It is imperative I cook and manage my diet in my own kitchen. unfortunately my LG oven has been half broken since December and as of yesterday, fully broken. Thanks appliance guy. Though I must go forward with no oven for the time being, I am not happy about it. When the oven is back up I will post pictures and recipes.

Thanks to those of you who have called or messaged me to encourage me and to share your own journey. I was not surprised that several of my friends are on the same path! As one friend told me, God put Adam and Eve in a GARDEN.

I will go with that!

2 thoughts on “What’s for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner?

  1. Agreed ; I felt wonderful when I gave up eating meats- one of the best decisions. I’ve ever made 🙂 Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:)

  2. Awesome post! I’ve never heard of polenta pizza. What’s your recipe? I use Jillian Michael’s Ultimate Medicine Ball Cross-Training System. It’s an 8-week plan, but it’s been hard to keep up with. Best of luck with her 90-day plan!

    Please check out my post on the importance of breakfast (my absolute favorite meal of the day) http://getphyt.org/2012/01/31/the-best-part-of-waking-up/

    I’d love to hear what you think about my post and blog! 🙂

    getPHYT, Exercise Your Mind.

Leave a Reply

