Vegan is NOT a Dirty Word


I confess I wish to shout from the mountaintops not only that Jesus is Lord, but everything I have learned about what my diet was doing to me, and how eating vegan has changed my life.

It sounds like I have fallen in love, but this is how a true breakthrough, or ‘Ah Ha’ feels. Like being on a high with clarity and calmness as  side-effects. Much better than nausea, diarrhea and death! Chas and I get a big laugh whenever we watch a pharmaceutical commercial and the majority of the commercial is the announcer listing all of the horrible side-effects of the drug. Sure you can get a good night’s sleep, but you may wake up covered in boils! Saturday Night Live does a funny take on the smokers patch, it helps Kristin Wig quit smoking, but she becomes homicidal. In the end, she finds it better to smoke than seek  a pharmaceutical remedy.

One of the strangest things I learned is that our medical doctors do not spend a lot of time learning about nutrition and how food effects our bodies. Just this morning a new study is out proclaiming that eating bacon every day will diminish your life expectancy by 20%. Red meat takes its toll in general. Wait a minute- hasn’t that information already been out for a while now? Why is this considered new?

Thomas Jefferson said, “The doctor of the future will give no medicine but will interest his patients in the care of the human frame, in diet and in the cause and prevention of disease.” Got to give it to Thomas, he certainly had vision.

Hippocrates said, “Let your food be your medicine, and your medicine be your food.” I can testify! When I eat a lot of fat in my diet I feel awful both physically and emotionally. I also do not think I am alone! But we have been trained by our government. Those fat-cats in Washington have made deals with devils and our nations health is proof.

Bill Maher said that there is no money in healthy or dead people. How true.

I stand in protest (again) in what our government has created as far as our food sources are concerned. In my protest, I may become healthy and the two major problems I have with my health, just may reverse. It is my protest to eat a plant-based diet and really enjoy it. I plan to eat more, feel better and lose weight naturally which has been my DREAM. Finally, lifestyle change means something to me. I had written earlier that in order to lose weight one just had to suck it up and admit to being on a diet. Well, this is evidence of my breakthrough.

When I am looking to buy a new car and have a model in mind, I notice them more readily on the highway. That model suddenly seems to be everywhere. The truth is, my attention is now focused on that model. Now I am tuned into the advertising of food: the commercials, billboards, neon-signs and the marketing ploys set to trap buyers. I am also wondering why Dr. Campbell and Dr. Esselstyn’s studies aren’t on they Yahoo! news? I am wondering why it seems so fringe as if only the “Keep Austin Weird” folks can relate?

I can also see the bloated effects food has on our citizens. But now I know, they have been fed lies as well as way too much high fructose corn syrup. Eating a plant-based diet is not a religion. I do not bow down to the flax-seed, but I do find a connection between my spirituality and feeling clean physically. It is what I have always wanted- that mind, body, spirit flow. Flow is hard when your arteries are full of grease. Let’s face the facts, but in order to do that we have to find the real facts.

And that is the issue. Who IS telling the truth here? Washington and the scientists who are on the payroll of lobbyists?

Check out: The China Study,  Forks Over Knives and  The Engine 2 Diet.  These scientists are telling the truth through major studies.

One thought on “Vegan is NOT a Dirty Word

  1. A lot of people have misconceptions about healthy eating and vegan diets… when you look at the “food pyramids” and realize how many people in the meat/dairy industry also have USDA ties it’s disheartening.

Leave a Reply

