Day 6 = End of Week 1


“And you are finished!” When I heard those words I was released from physical exertion until 6:30 Monday morning. It is a grand feeling. Overall, I am feeling grand today. I will not weigh or measure myself until the last week, but already I feel and look different. Today we were told to choose our hike. I picked Stop Sign hike because it is hard, yet beautiful and there is no sand. It is 4 1/2 miles UP and 4 1/2 miles DOWN. I got up at a good pace and jogged almost the whole way down. When I got to the parking lot my body felt perfect. No aches. No pains. I feel strong- like I could do anything if I had the right training. That is key- all of this amazing training. I am getting what I paid for and hoped for. I have had a headache for the last few days, though mild it was an ache. I was dehydrated and lacking electrolytes. After some water and a shot of electrolytes the head ache is gone.

Every fad diet that is released into our world comes with some small disclaimers: Results not typical, and follow a proper diet and exercise. The truth is the diet fads are just that, and it is always the proper diet and exercise that works. As a lifetime member of Jenny Craig, I can tell you it works if you only eat the food on the plan because it is around 1200 calories. The problem with Jenny, besides her prices, is who wants to eat frozen foods ALL of the time? Not me, which may be why I have returned to Jenny a few times to lose the same weight. I am learning here about real, fresh food, and how amazing it feels to move my body.

Camel Back- we reached the top and then another top!

Last night Matt Hoover spoke to us about his experience on the show, The Biggest Loser. I was amazed to learn that when he was on he had no nutritional coaching, very little training and after it was all over he was on his own. He says he has learned so much this week and one main thing is that he can live on 1200 calories a day. Me, too. The food here is big and tasty and we are all staying full.

Salmon burger for dinner
Dessert…yummy raspberry sauce!
Famous Fitness Ridge menu sign

Today is Saturday, and I get to spend the rest of the day resting. At six we have graduation ceremonies for the people who are leaving tomorrow. If you do all of your classes for the week you win a prize- I will receive a t-shirt tonight. Amazing what I will do for a t-shirt! I will wear it with pride. A have met some great people here. On person, Beth is an improv comic, writes and performs puppet shows and works in a movie theater. She once spent a whole week sharing an office with Quentin Tarantino. She is funny- we both agreed that our glutes are going to look so spectacular that we will wear out pants with the seat cut out! Yes, I am talking ass-less pants. You know, like gay men and Cher wear!

Seriously, what I take from this first week is this: Fitness and nutrition are  the keys to health.  Period. Oh, and I learned I am a bad-ass…I can do it, because I am worth it!
3 thoughts on “Day 6 = End of Week 1

  1. you go girl!!!keep it up. You write motivationally and very well. How hot is it there???? If I walked 9 miles here I would turn into broiled Debbie

Leave a Reply

