My Expectations


The big question I get asked (after the money questions) is why do I FEEL I need to go to the The Biggest Loser Resort at Fitness Ridge for a four week commitment.

I want to talk about that.

Everyone owns a self image, and mine is in need of a major overhaul. I need more than a tune-up. In fact, if I could trade my current self-image in for a new model, that is what I will do.

On July 8th I turn 50. If you are reading this and have either met that crossroad, or you are nearing it soon, then you may understand that with the golden age comes the cold reality that life on the other side may be shorter, and one’s body is going to change dramatically in the next 20 years. I do not want to be the lady who falls and can’t get up. So, that said, I wish to add that with a healthy BMI, and with proper diet and an active lifestyle, once I retire (I hope that I will be able to do so!) I will have the vehicle to travel and enjoy the rest of my life.

On self-image: when I was growing up I was the daughter of a man who never wore a shirt at home. He was a sculpted, bronzed perfect man. My father was handsome as well…and I am guessing here that he wanted his children to have the same pride in their appearance as he had in his. My paternal grandmother was a very large woman, and I think he knew that genetic capacity was in his girls- because my brothers had no fat on them at all. My sister and I were, my mother’s words, “chubby”.

I really like the word chubby. It is friendly and cute. It has a cuddly connotation. Chubby at eights years old was just fine for me. But when I turned 14, 15 and 16, my father saw me only periodically, and when he did see me he would ask me to turn around so he could get a look at me. On several occasions he would proclaim it was time to start exercising and the first one was to push away the plate. If my behind was too big in his opinion, he would use his Catholic cussing, “Mary Mother of Jesus” . He didn’t need to say anything else.

In my 20’s and 30’s there were times I had lost weight and was training hard to have muscle tone. His response was on a few occasions, “Now you’re too thin. Add about 5 pounds and you will be perfect.

No, I would not be perfect ever in his eyes. Ever. First off  because I am a female- but I will save that rant for another posting!

As one of my students so aptly put it when he needed to make a point and wanted me to listen intently: REAL TALK, I know I do not look bad. I know I am not more than say 15 to 20 pounds more than I can be…what I know is that my muscle mass is shrinking daily and cellulite, in all it’s awful glory is taking over. Dr. Oz says if one wants to diminish the look of cellulite, gain muscle and lose weight! Those creams are not going to change your celluite to muscle ratio. I love Dr. Oz, and maybe it is not only me, but don’t you think he would benefit from a permanent co-host? Oprah kept him interesting.

Andabout Oprah and all of the other rich and priviledged women in the world who gain a few pounds and call their favorite chef and tell them to cut the calories in each meal, then call the yoga, pilates and personal trainer to help them shape up. I have always wanted THAT experience. The Ridge is appears to be THAT experince and the price is the best I have seen for the program. I will be channeling my inner rich girl all month.

Before I started trying to run again in January of this year, my joints were starting to ache and creak. Arduous exercise helps diminish that, as well as many aches and pains associated with being a couch cushion. BONES…let’s talk BONES!!! I read about the bone drugs given to women either prior to having osteoporosis, and those with it. These drugs do not help build nice, thick bones. They help build thicker yet much less dense bones still prone to fractures. Boniva ain’t the perfect answer ladies!! I love Sally Field: I have been a fan since Gidget. She is a tiny lady who was so small if she wears a habit she may still be able to fly! How dense do her bones need to be to hold her miniature body up between takes? One of the weird things happening to women taking these drugs is their femurs a breaking easily. That is the largest bone in our body- and it is snapping like a cracker after years on bone drugs.

What is the alternative?

Lift weights- run, eat right. Think positive. Love your body. Love yourself.

To recap, I am looking for less cellulite, more muscle, and a self-image overhaul. When I turn 70 I hope to be in better physical condition than I am in right now.

I just received my last subscribed copy of More Magazine. I like that magazine. But, you know that the Baby Boomers continue to age past 40; maybe there needs to be a new magazine…how about Much More!

One thought on “My Expectations

  1. Kim, best of luck with the Ranch. I hope that you find the “new you”, but dont throw away all the “old” Kim.
    The original model was a pretty good one. Im sure they will work your butt off, if its the same type of programs they use for the show. Always admired your courage to step out out of the comfort zone and try new things.

Leave a Reply

