BoomerNation


Peace and love

Peace and love (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

While watching the Today Show on Saturday morning, I watched a segment called, BoomerNation. My first thought: this is a clever title. My second thought: I am a part of the BoomerNation… I should watch. All of my life I have read that my birthday falls within the baby boomer boundary. Talk about feeling a part of the crowd! I am in the “tail end” of the boom, but tail I’ll take. I am a proud member of the largest batch of babies to hit the US at the beginning of big changes. Other generations have been given names, such as Generation X, and Generation Y, and Generation Z. Yawn. I feel those generations haven’t quite coagulated enough for a real name to stick and for journalists to use cleverly. Boomers are responsible for the X’ers. Remember the 80’s? Yeah, not too bad of a follow-up, and it was big; as in hair. History, with the help of the boomers, will show the accelerated advancements, the revolutions, innovations and transformations. Since I am a tail-ender, I have been able to reap a lot of what the older boomers have sown. Thanks all of you 65 year olds. The youngest 65 year olds to ever turn 65.

What I would like to see is a a national turn toward respect of the elders, sort of like the way those in Asian countries respect their mom’s and dad’s moms and dads. There is wisdom to be gleaned in the older generations, and the youngsters may benefit from seeking advice from Grandma as if she were a recluse seeking truth through meditation on a mountaintop. “Grandma, what is the meaning of life?”

TRY to get it right, and you won’t wallow in the wrong!

“Thanks G-ma, now can I have a cookie made from all fresh ingredients and not from a box or roll from the refrigerated section of the store?”

After the marijuana smoke had cleared a bit in the 70’s, one of the movements of the communally stoned hippies was the fight for environmental issues, as well as that whole seeking enlightenment craze. The two go together like Forrest and Jenny, or peas and carrots. The Bible tells me that I am from the dirt. A part of the earth. And like the taggers who spray paint their own neighborhood houses and bring down the market value by crapping on their own turf (I call this generation, Generation What the F***?) we are devaluing our dirt and everything that needs to roll in it. Instead of seeking Grandmother’s advice, some of our youth are actually breaking into her home, tying her up and taking her 5 dollar bill which she was going to send to her granddaughter for her birthday. The teens of today who have fallen to drugs and crime see our elders as targets; septarian sitting ducks- victims of their own grandchildren.

Do you think the tepee set would have allowed this? Uh….. no.

I have reached the age where I am old enough that when a young person calls me ma’am I no longer flinch and insist, I am not a ma’am! I am, I admit it. And with ma’am, comes some respect…doesn’t it? I have lived here for a while, made bunches of mistakes and tried not to wallow in them- so why are some of the youngsters treating me like I am the reason why their father left them and their mother does drugs with strange men?

Because that is all they know weedhopper.

It would be totally cool if this generation of kids, who are literally showing their butts to the world, would seek a revolution of their own. Why not go against the trends of today and be a true rebel? Quit smoking (the government wants you to smoke and die…hello!) Quit doing drugs. Gangs are funded by the habitual habit of getting high; wouldn’t it be awesome if the drug dealers were the ones who had to foreclose on their homes? Stop having babies during your adolescent years…give the next generation a chance to see what good planning is all about and how a surprise can be a blessing without government intervention.

Women of the 1960’s incited the sexual revolution. Girls of the millenium have taken us back to the Neolithic period. They know what they have and how to show it off, but women have lost their power, and yes, I think for a short while we had some in that arena. Power and respect go together like … Forrest and Jenny.

A news segment on ABC World News showed a graduating class of young urban male seniors, 107 of them, who all have to wear a suit and tie to school every day. When they are freshmen they are given a watch so there is no excuse to be late to school. These young men, from a very troubled part of the city, wear their ties with pride and never misplace their watches. All 107 of them were accepted into college; some were accepted into so many different universities, without a cheat sheet, they couldn’t name them all!

There is hope. I lay it on the feet of our parents and grandparents. Since so many have failed their children then I pray for a revolution from this generation, one of glorious, mind-blowing guerilla tactics of respect for themselves, others and our planet.

Try, just TRY to get life right.

6 thoughts on “BoomerNation

  1. At 58 I am part of the BoomerNation and damn proud of it. I open my show talking about our generation and what we’ve done. We opened the doors for all that these little darlings have today and I have no problem letting them know this.

    Great blog,

    Caroline

  2. Very interesting blog, Kim, but it’s missing an important part of the equation: Generation Jones (between the Boomers and Generation X). Born at the “tail end” of the 1946-1964 demographic boom in births, you are part of GenJones. As I read this post, it seemed obvious to me that you are much more Jones than Boom. If you have a chance, read this op-ed in USA Today about us, I think you’d relate: http://www.usatoday.com/printedition/news/20090127/column27_st.art.htm

    It is important to distinguish between the post-WWII demographic boom in births vs. the cultural generations born during that era. Generations are a function of the common formative experiences of its members, not the fertility rates of its parents. And most analysts now see generations as getting shorter (usually 10-15 years now), partly because of the acceleration of culture. Many experts now believe it breaks down more or less this way:

    DEMOGRAPHIC boom in babies: 1946-1964
    Baby Boom GENERATION: 1942-1953
    Generation Jones: 1954-1965
    Generation X: 1966-1978

    Google Generation Jones, and you’ll see it’s gotten lots of media attention, and many top commentators from many top publications and networks (Washington Post, Time magazine, NBC, Newsweek, ABC, etc.) now specifically use this term. In fact, the Associated Press’ annual Trend Report chose the Rise of Generation Jones as the #1 trend of 2009. I found this page helpful because it gives a pretty good overview of recent media interest in GenJones: http://generationjones.com/2009latest.html

    • Wow, Generation Jones… I will check this moniker out. However, if this is true, I have once again been misdirected by our education sysytem. Since the first grade I was told I was a Boomer, the last of the boom. In my heart I will always be a part of THEM!! Thanks for the link!

  3. I always thought I was a Generation Jones, it just seemed that is when everyone started keeping up with the Jones’,when the switch, switch, switched!

Leave a Reply

